RSS

A Korean Student’s View of The Philippines–Worth it to be Reflected by The Country

19 Jan

Philippines is one of the most visited countries in the Southeast Asia because of its breathtaking scenic views. You’d never see and believe a landscape like Philippines. The country possesses thousands of islands and to be exact 7, 107 islands. Who can ever explore the entire country with seven thousand plus wonderful islands? I for one never tried to see them all.

But not only the islands that are interesting about Philippines, there is this people and culture that also makes the island fascinating to visit. Western people would always love the adventure in the country. And one thing that also makes foreigners keep coming back is the fact that it caters a good venue for other Asian countries who wish to level-up their skills in English.

There is this journal written by a Korean student that eventually moved me. He said in his journal that;

“Koreans did not work just for themselves but also for their neighborhood and country. Education inspired young men with the spirit of patriotism.”

Trying to talk about his countrymen and how they battle against poverty which they had 50 years ago.

In that article he also talked about the two jailers whom he met in one of the maximum-security compounds in the Philippines and said,

“I have been to the New Bilibid prison. What made me sad in the prison were the prisoners who do not have any love for their country. They go to mass and work for Church. They pray everyday. However, they do not love the Philippines.”

The comment from that man made me silent for a moment. Somehow it’s true. I partly agree and am shaken. Is this how other people in the world see Filipinos?

I couldn’t say he is wrong but I couldn’t say he is correct. Every person possesses an opinion. But I’m a Filipino. I know what’s going on in the country. Everyday, I read news and live in reality. I see flaws and catch problems. But everywhere in this world has.

I know, Filipinos sometimes have this unconcern disposition. But not all are. I love my country. I cried for this country several times but it’s not enough. Maybe Filipinos lifestyle is not really that good as compared to other countries in Asia. But why do the people from rich countries come here and envy the smile and the genuineness of the Filipinos.

I’m not bragging. I don’t want to brag about it. Who doesn’t want to improve and be better? Everyone does. Improvement is not meant to be the reason for any lives misery. Never mind. I’d rather be here and love to be here in my country. And live life to the fullest. Here, nobody needs to push me to study till early dawn just to get that degree that the majority wanted.

Yes, you can only achieve something through striving hard. But Filipinos thrive harder everyday. Strive to live a life and be happy. Who needs to be blame? No one. Who must judge a person’s condition? No one. There’s always beauty underneath the deathly white color of the dust. And there is no need for me to polish gold to know its gold.

A Korean Student’s View of the Philippines

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in A Piece of Advice

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

Envision Your Future Online

Helping you Improve your Online Business

Love Letters to Spam

I write love letters to my spam folder.

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

chester maynes

Poetry and Poems

sheila sea

like thalassic velvet

The Mommy Diaries

This is a look into my 20-something years young life on my journey as a mother, student, friend, worker, daughter, & woman.

My Pain, My Life, My Struggles, My Fight

Come walk with me, Down My Dark & Stormy Journey BUSINESS INQUIRIES & CONTACT EMAIL : GODSCHILD4048@GMAIL.COM

Fingerlike

My life is my big moment. Only if I had enough nerve to make that moment bigger.

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

sonofthemountains

Child of the human condition

Eastern Sea Star

This site will feature a wide variety of posts

amateur airplanes

Let's build.

Angelart Star

The beautiful picture of angels makes you happy.

